Report: Big 12 trims expansion list to at least 12 schools

The Big 12 has narrowed the list of programs that could receive an expansion invite to at least 12 schools, sources told Brett McMurphy and Jake Trotter of ESPN.

The schools reportedly still in the mix are Air Force, BYU, UCF, Cincinnati, Colorado State, UConn, Houston, Rice, South Florida, SMU, Temple, and Tulane.

Memphis apparently hasn’t been ruled out and could still be in the running.

Sources said Arkansas State, Boise State, East Carolina, New Mexico, Northern Illinois, San Diego State, and UNLV are no longer under consideration.

East Carolina was the first school to confirm its removal from the expansion discussion. UNLV and New Mexico have also acknowledged they’re out of the picture.

“While it is obviously not the decision we were hoping for, I am confident ECU put forth its best effort during this process,” East Carolina athletic director Jeff Compher said in a statement. “Through a determined approach, we were able to tell our story to not only the Big 12 but the entire nation.”

The conference is more likely to expand by just two teams than by four, sources said, but indicated it’s most likely that the Big 12 remains at 10 teams.

The programs that are still in the mix will reportedly meet with officials in Dallas next week. The conference hopes to make a decision before the Big 12 board of directors meeting Oct. 17.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

NCAAF | theScore

Leave a Reply